Thursday 27th November 2014,
Comic Booked

Review: Nuclear Winter

Tatiana Christian 01/14/2013 Reviews

Also known as Hiver NucléaireI stumbled upon this webcomic in my usual way: clicking around on Twitter and getting sucked into the rabbit hole of links and blogs.

Nuclear Winter

Nuclear Winter

This incredibly new web comic, which began in October 2012, is written by Caroline Breault (aka Cab), a French-Canadian. Nuclear Winter is set in Montreal after a nuclear accident that took place nine years earlier at the fictional Gentilly-3 power plant. The city is now covered in radioactive snow and follows the adventures of Flavie – a ski-doo courier – in a world where some people have been mutated by the fall-out. While Nuclear Winter is more comedy than dark, post-apocalyptic horror, it’s a really interesting backdrop and peaked my interest enough to start reading.

One of the initial draws I had to Nuclear Winter is that it’s originally a French comic that’s translated into English by the creator. This means that many aspects of it are French-Canadian (the author said she won’t change the signs, for example, that are originally in French) which give readers a glimpse into the culture. And, with my degree in French, I always grab at many opportunities that allow me to enhance and refine my language skills.

And since the webcomic world is surprisingly small (I’m amazed at how many well-known webcomic creators follow the work of other well-known creators), this is a fantastic way to find other comics written either in French, or by French-speaking people (or both).

There are several highlights:

1. The main character, Flavie, isn’t traditional looking (ie: tall, thin and busty) which gives it a very grounded appearance. I’m also finding that artists who draw more realistic characters tend to have overall more original character designs than ones who draw more conventional characters.

2. Léonie, a black woman as a major supporting character. The comic is so new that it’s difficult to say what part Léonie will play in Flavie’s life and the comic overall, but I’m always thrilled to come across webcomics that predominantly feature non-whites as major – or otherwise important – characters.

3. While art isn’t the most detailed, or mind-blowing – the coloring for Nuclear Winter really drew me in. I have a stronger preference for webcomics in color, but sometimes the colors are flat and don’t reflect things like lights and shadows. But in Nuclear Winter, I didn’t encounter this. In one group of panels, Flavie is driving her ski-doo at night, and I love how Cab used lights from near-by apartments to show how dark it is. When she enters her apartment, everything in the panels brighten, acting as a sharp contrast to her world outside.

Overall, I’d recommend this comic to anyone interested in non-American work, and those who like science-fiction backdrops for their webcomics!

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Hi! I'll be helping to write indie and webcomic reviews for the site!! (Webcomics are now my new addiction!) My current fave series to read are Bedlam, Morning Glories and Saga (omg!). I've also had stories in anthologies : Womanthology by Renae de Liz, The Gathering by Grayhaven Comics and a forthcoming anthology Skin Crawling Comics by Rachel Pandich.

  1. arsautbine 01/14/2013 at 1:28 pm

    I'd be super interested in reading this one. I lived in Quebec for a year, and it'd be awesome to read a webcomic about it! :)

    • parisianfeline 01/16/2013 at 11:02 pm

      Oh I didn't know you lived in Quebec for a year! I visited Montreal for my birthday – not EXACTLY the same thing (hah) – but French speaking Canada is my favorite part!

  2. Scorp_Moonopoly 01/14/2013 at 1:59 pm

    I like the coloring on that cover image.

    • parisianfeline 01/16/2013 at 11:02 pm

      Yeah, the cover image is reallllly amazing.

  3. NickFurious 01/14/2013 at 7:21 pm

    I love the cover too Scorp

  4. jeffhillwriter 01/15/2013 at 1:10 am

    The cover looks good. I'll be interested to see what your opinion is after there is more material to draw from.

  5. Knighti2 01/15/2013 at 11:46 am

    Merry Nuclear Christmas and nine years of overtime. Damn! :)

Leave A Response