Friday 28th November 2014,
Comic Booked

Buffy #4 – Sneak Review!

Nicole Sixx 12/11/2011 Reviews

** The following review while careful not to reveal any actual spoilers does tease the reader with hints. If you would like to partake of these non-spoiling hints please continue, if not the issue was excellent please feel free to purchase it from your local comic book distributor on 12/14/2011 **

 

This Buffy Sneak review is going to be kinda short, and not due to time constraints but rather Issue 4 is so action-packed it’s going to be difficult to summarize without spoilers.

First off we’re going to learn a bit more about “The Siphon”, this whole arc so far has been incredibly fast paced and full of twists and turns, I love it. This issue is no different as it is a full on battle showdown with surprising twists on multiple fronts. (Loved the color work of the lights on the pier, btw. So beautiful.)

 

Also Spike reveals his current feelings on his and Buffy’s relationship, but not to Buffy whose own feelings are anyones guess. This is important as hints of a new potential pairing are beginning to emerge because Buffy is still cookie dough.

Cookie dough mostly tied up in righting this whole seed mess for the greater good. Which is good, because this is one mess that seems to only want to get messier. You can’t make an omelet without braking a few eggs, and poor Buffy seems to have these nasty eggs all over her face.

Welp, that’s enough Buffy-themed food analogies for one sneak review,  see you guys back here for #5!! – N

 

 

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

I'm a writer who loves to entertain and be entertained. My motto for life is the geekier the better!

  1. Veiriti 12/11/2011 at 11:17 pm

    Thank you for the review, Nicole! I can't wait to have my copy! And I disagree with Spike here – he is the RIGHT man for Buffy, no one else! :D

    • Nicole Sixx 12/11/2011 at 11:34 pm

      Hahaha!! Thanks, Veiriti, glad you're enjoying them, can't wait to see what the writing staff has in store for us. – N

      • Veiriti 12/11/2011 at 11:47 pm

        Oh, so do I. Especially when I've seen the Noto's covers for issues # 6 and 7! I just can't wait!!! I love Andrew Chambliss and I think he is one of the best Buffy's writers so far. Honesty, I'm not a big fan of Season 8, I loved the Last Gleaming arc only.

    • Ashley 12/20/2011 at 1:31 am

      You know, reading those panels with Spike, I couldn't help but be eerily reminded of Angel in Season 3…or even early season 2, for that matter, when he was still all reticent and such.

      On the one hand, I suppose it says a lot about where he's at now, since Spike was always the one who used to insist Buffy could never be happy with someone who *was* normal.

      • Nicole Sixx 12/21/2011 at 3:43 am

        Excellent point. I actually agreed w/ Spike on that point. To have a normal relationship one must first have a normal life.

        The real question is when is Buffy going to become okay with being different? Evil keeps coming, even in the real world. There is not cure all fix! And even if there was, normal people have their own set of demons… like Studen Loans.

        • Ashley 12/21/2011 at 6:47 am

          To quote one of my favorite people: "I've seen so many freaks and so many weirdos and crazy punk rockers and drunks and junkies. But for a lot of those people being weird is easy. It's so easy to be strange–the hard thing is to try to be normal. There's no such thing as normal, ya know." ;)

          Buffy, of course, illustrates this in spades. Her desire for normalcy is all too common and relatable in a society where we are essentially programmed to want to be like everybody else and where those perceived as "different" are not easily accepted or accomodated.

          To be quite honest, my own thoughts on that particular aspect of Buffy are too complicated to explain here, as it touches an issue very near and dear to my heart. But! On the subject of normal relationships, I will say this:

          Buffy will never be able to maintain a "normal" relationship in terms of behavior and construct. However, she *could* have a relationship with a "normal" person, *if* said person was accepting of her difference and the necessarily un-typical relationship dynamic. Both parts of that are key, because without one or the other, the relationship falls apart. Riley, for example, possessed the former quality, but was too insecure for the latter. Thus, disaster.

  2. Ashley 12/20/2011 at 1:33 am

    Hmmm…okay, maybe it's just cause I'm behind, but I don't really get the water comment from Spike.

    I mean, I *get* it, in the larger pop cultural context, but that rule has never really applied to Buffyverse vampires before.

    • Nicole Sixx 12/21/2011 at 3:44 am

      I think it applied to technology and not mythology.

      • Ashley 12/21/2011 at 5:55 am

        Well, I'm sure the splashing had to do with the phone…But I meant the fact that he says "vampires and water aren't exactly best friends either". Not phones and water. I get the joke, like I said, but it doesn't make much sense in the context of the Buffyverse…unless we are to take a rather large leap in assuming he was referring to holy water. But if you have to think about it that much, the joke is no longer funny. =P

        • Veiriti 12/21/2011 at 7:34 am

          Well, I'm not sure, but maybe that quote "vampires and water aren't exactly best friends" is connected somehow with season 7 where the First and Turok-Han tortured Spike putting his head under the water. Spike suffered then a lot and it was curious for me why, because the vampires practically don't breathe, but maybe the water is causing other damages to them. And in the end of Angel S3, Angel was locked up in the metal coffin into the bottom of the ocean.

  3. Veiriti 12/21/2011 at 4:22 am

    I've read the issue and I loved it a lot. I think something happened between Spike and Buffy, when Severin took them both. Something passed thru between them – maybe they shared their powers or even their souls, I don't know… Severin hasn't managed to kill them (or to de-power them), but I believe he made a kind of special connection between these two. I loved that moment – it was heartbreaking, intense, and so… "Spuffy" moment between. And I'm expecting that will change a lot.

    And Spike is different than Angel. I loved Angel – I even used to ship Bangel before, but for me Spike always was the better. Spike was able to love Buffy and to take care about her even when he had no soul. Yeah, the SOULLESS Spike was the one who used to insist Buffy could never be happy with normal. But from the other hand Buffy IS NOT normal, so I doubt that she would be happy with someone normal. Look what happened between her and Riley – that was the worst Buffy's relationships, IMO. I really, really don't see her with a normal human again. And no body knows her as Spike does, he is her soulmate and Buffy will get it.

    And I think this time Buffy will be the one who will pursue Spike. ;)

    • Ashley 12/21/2011 at 7:57 am

      No shit Spike is different than Angel; They're nearly perfect foils for each other =P The fact that they're both vampires with souls and both in love with Buffy are pretty much the only things they *do* have in common. And their gender, of course.

      That is precisely what makes it so jarring to hear/see Spike saying the sort of thing that Angel used to say all the time regarding his and Buffy's relationship (hell, that was the entire reason he left, after all). I can't say I really agreed with it then, and I don't know if I really agree with it now either.

      However, I don't know if I would go so far as to say that she could never be happy with a human. While I agree that her relationship with Riley was terrible, the problem wasn't that he was human; It's that he was insecure about his place in their relationship.

      For sake of argument, say Spike became human somehow. Do you think that would nullify any potential for a relationship between them?

Leave A Response