Tuesday 23rd December 2014,
Comic Booked

BOOM!’s Outcast to Become Valen The Outcast

Michael Wirth 12/04/2011 Reviews

What do you get when you cross Conan The Barbarian with The Walking Dead? That’s the question BOOM! Studios asked right before coming up with its new title, Outcast. Due out in December, BOOM! announced that though the story will be going by a different name, Valen the Outcast, it will still be chock full of action, violence, and an undead man’s quest to reclaim his soul.

Valen The OutcastBOOM! Studios is proud to announce a title change for its successful new launch of Outcast #1, shipping December 7, 2011 to comic book stores worldwide for only $1 — the new title will be Valen the Outcast.

“We were contacted by another entity who holds the trademark for the name ‘Outcast’ which we were unaware of,” said BOOM!’s Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Ross Richie. “We have the utmost respect for the other company and were happy to make the change. Our central character is Valen Brand, the character itself is not named Outcast, so altering the title is an easy change we can make.”

“Orders were strong on this new series from Michael Alan Nelson and Matteo Scalera,” said Matt Gagnon, Editor-in-Chief, “and this book sees them both doing the best work of their careers. Everyone over here’s been blown away. Fans of Game of Thrones and Conan shouldn’t miss this action-packed #1 issue.”

Art from the premier issue of Valen the OutcastValen the Outcast tells the story of King Valen Brand. He was a just king and a great warrior until he was killed by a Necromancer in battle and resurrected as one of the walking dead. Now he’s considered an abomination in his own realm, an outcast with only one purpose: to restore his lost soul…

Valen the Outcast #1 is written by Michael Alan Nelson (28 Days Later, Robert E. Howard’s Hawk of Outremer) with art by Matteo Scalera (Deadpool). This title ships in December with the main covers in a 30/30/30/10 split by Liam Sharp, Cary Nord, Alé Garza and Trevor Hairsine, a 1-in-25 incentive by Chad Hardin, a 1-in-50 sketch incentive by Trevor Hairsine, a 1-in-75 sketch incentive by Alé Garza, and a special 1-in-200 Joe Jusko variant cover which will be offered slabbed by CGG with a 9.8 Near Mint Grade.

 

Valen the Outcast features 22 pages of story and carries a price point of $1.00 with a Diamond Code of OCT110899.

 

Art from the premier issue of Valen the Outcast

 

Art from the premier issue of Valen the Outcast

 

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Hailing from the armpit of America, New Jersey, Michael has been collecting comic books since the age of 10. Now, he deigns to keep his finger on the pulse of pop-culture, keeping up with every passing fad or iconic innovation, never losing sight of his comic book roots.

Leave A Response